Board of Selectmen

NH RSA Title III, 41:8 - Election and Duties. – Every town, at the annual meeting, shall choose, by ballot, one selectman to hold office for 3 years. The selectmen shall manage the prudential affairs of the town and perform the duties by law prescribed. A majority of the selectmen shall be competent in all cases.

The Thornton Board of Selectmen consists of five equal members who shall operate by majority vote to serve as the governing body of the Town, manage the prudential affairs of the Town, and to perform the duties prescribed by law in accordance with the Right-to-Know Law (RSA 91-A).

Please see the Meeting Calendar for meeting dates and times. All meetings are at the Town Office Building unless otherwise posted. Additional meetings may be scheduled as needed.

If you want to be on the agenda for a meeting, please contact Town Administrator, Debra Shepard during regular business hours or by email at

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Debra Shepard Town Administrator (603) 726-8168

Board of Selectmen

Name Title
Marianne Peabody Chairperson (2021)
Brad Benton Vice-Chairperson (2023)
John "Jack" Gaites Member (2021)
Joseph Monti Member (2022)
Roy Sabourn Member (2023)